Day 30- Coulda Been Rich 🦶️💰

Every family has some sort of story that is their “claim to fame”. This is my family’s ALMOST claim to fame story!

It was the early 1900s and my great-grandfather, on my mom’s side, was friends with a gentleman named William. They both lived and worked in Chicago. This friend was looking to start up a company and my great-grandfather lent him $500 to help get it going. Once the company was up and running, the friend told my great-grandfather that he could either get his $500 back or he could join his friend as a partner in the company. My great-grandfather chose to just get the $500 back and move on.

Well, IF my great-grandfather would have become a partner in this business, maybe, just maybe, we could have been rich. See, this friend of his was none other than Dr. Scholl.

Even though my family isn’t rich, it’s always a fun story to tell. I just wish that I would have been able to get more details to the story when my grandparents were alive. I guess it will always remain our “coulda been rich” story! 💰


10 responses to “Day 30- Coulda Been Rich 🦶️💰”

  1. This is an awesome story! Just think…you could have been an heiress to the Dr. S empire! Soft, supportive shoes as far as the eye can see. Thanks for sharing such a fun family “legend.”

    Like

  2. That’s pretty cool. Like one of the subplots in my favorite xmas movie It’s a Wonderful Life. But then, of course, a lot else would be different too. The guy my then-greaser dad forced my mom to break up with wound up being really rich. Then, of course, me and my kids probably wouldn’t exist. Super cool story, but I’m glad you and your people are all who you are!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started